Weekly Wrap Up #4 [January 19-25, 2020]

It seems like January will never end, but it’s been great for me to get some reading done. At the time I’m typing this up to send out into the world, I have read 22 books. My goal for the year is 220, so I’m doing well thus far. I’ve been working on ebooks, audio books, and physical books. I just need to stop requesting NetGalley books, but I’m not doing so well on this. I’d love to know if anyone actually has self control regarding NetGalley.

This week I read 6 books!

Here they are:

4 stars ⭐️

I’ll have a review of this soon since it publishes on February 4th. This was my first historical romance, and I adored it. Sometimes it’s good to step outside your comfort zone.

4 stars ⭐️

I’m doing a review on the duology so that will be coming in the next week or two, because it was a really awesome series. I buddy read it with a friend, and I’m so happy I finally picked this one up. It doesn’t get the hype it deserves. It’s about a necromancer who’s a teen girl!

4 stars ⭐️

This is so hilarious! It’s also very relatable to all moms, stay at home or working. This is one of those books you curl up with on the couch and laugh while eating junk food. I want more books like this which are honest about parenting and how your life changes. Like yes, it changes but it becomes better in a new way! As long as your child is fed, alive, and mostly happy, you’re excelling. This is the message we need shared more.

4 stars ⭐️

This ending to the series left me a little sad because I wanted more excitement, but it was pretty decent. I’ll have my full thoughts soon, I promise.

4 stars ⭐️

I’ve been loving self help books lately!

The little book of Hygge is so cute. It’s literally just like eat cake and be happy. The book made me hungry and now I want to own a lot of sweaters. I tend to love the popular self help books, so it’s not a surprise this one was a hit with me. It’s pretty much like turn off your phones, light candles, and spend time with your family. A short read, but I found it uplifting and worth utilizing some of the practices(minus the eating meat) into my daily life.

5 stars ⭐️

Uh, so this book is really taboo? I can’t say I recommend it because I think it could be triggering to a lot of people, but I loved it. I’m actually still like processing the entire book, but I’ll have a review once my brain has like… absorbed what I actually read.

And…. that’s what I read this week. I’m currently listening to one audio book, reading a NetGalley book, and working on two library books.

Did you have a good reading week? Please share links to wrap ups or just tell me what you read. I’m eager to chat about books no matter what!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up #4 [January 19-25, 2020]

  1. Bookends and Bagends

    That’s a super productive week, mine sadly was less so.
    Finished The Four Profound Weaves which is a fantastic novella I got through Netgalley. Also I discovered the GrimDark magazine and read two editions of that (they’re on Goodreads so they count for the years target). But nothing else apart from those :/
    It’s impossible to not over request on Netgalley. There are so many fantastic books there plus in my experience you have them pending for ages then get multiple acceptances on the same day.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Storme Reads Post author

      I think you still did well!
      Yes, I agree. I also expect to be rejected, and I’m approved so I’m often surprised when I get the emails.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a comment